ST 002



Matti Bye

Release Title:

Tove (Original Soundtrack)

Track listing:

  1. The Beginning
  2. The Drawing (Matti Bye, Lau Nau)
  3. Secret Land (Matti Bye, Lau Nau)
  4. First Meeting (Matti Bye, Lau Nau)
  5. Wandering Piano (Matti Bye, Lau Nau)
  6. Sea (Matti Bye, Lau Nau)
  7. Galloping Waves
  8. Last Kiss
  9. Noir (Mambo Noir Trio )
  10. Valse Noir

Catalogue Number:


Release Date:

28th May, 2021

Artwork by:

Swedish pianist-composer Matti Bye translates Moomin creator Tove Jansson’s inner world into a daring, unconventional and hauntingly timeless score.

In her biopic ‘Tove’, director Zaida Bergroth captures the unpredictable love life of libertine children’s author Tove Jansson, creator of the cult children’s books ‘The Moomins’. Initially a side project, she was catapulted to fame after her lover insisted upon bringing the characters to life in the theatre.  Set in bohemian Helsinki after World War II the sensuously textured film, shot on 16mm, concentrates on a formative decade in Tove’s life (from the mid-1940s to mid-’50s) and explores her turbulent search for identity, desire and freedom

After its world premiere at the Toronto Film Festival last year, ‘Tove’ was this year’s Finnish selection to the Oscars and has been nominated for 10 JUSSI Awards, including one for Best Music.

The captivating and textural score, created by accoladed Swedish composer and artist Matti Bye, melds exquisitely with the natural acting style, 16mm analogue film that this was shot on as well as mono sound mix. During the initial writing, Bye set out on a journey to attempt to illustrate Janson´s inner world in sound.   “I wanted the melodic and sonic language to try and get as close to this sense of her inner decision-making process and psyche as possible.”

“For me Tove Janson herself is an immensely inspiring artist of creativity and boundless imagination, and I love the courage of director Zaida Bergroth to choose the most unconventional film music I ever made, textural and minimal music that takes winding paths into the irrational, self-contradictory human psyche of Tove.”

The score , which also features Finnish composer & artist  Laura Naukkarinen (Lau Nau) as well as Matti´s band Mambo Noir Trio, integrates electronics and field recordings into a central role of the sound picture.  The result is an illustrative and authentic score that leads the viewer into the mind of the protagonist and sets the scene.  Hauntingly timeless, not only does this score meld with the period in which the film is set, but it lifts the story forward into a contemporary realm allowing the extremely relevant thematics to be brought forward into present day.

We at OONA Recordings are proud to present the mesmerizing soundtrack to this beautiful film as a singular and stand-alone experience.

Press Contact:
Valerie Dobbelaere
Post Bills PR

OONA Soundtracks
Jacob Snavely
jacob @ oonaoona . com



Rebekka Karijord & Jon Ekstrand

Release Title:

I Am Greta (Original Motion Picture Soundtrack)

Track listing:

  1. Tic Toc
  2. The First Friday
  3. Riksgatan
  4. Depression
  5. Childhood
  6. The Wind
  7. Nervous Feet
  8. Katowice
  9. Fridays For Future
  10. Trolls
  11. Claustrophobia
  12. The Movement
  13. Grief
  14. New Chapter
  15. The Ocean
  16. The Arrival
  17. People Are Waking Up
  18. Grief (credits version)
  19. Fridays For Future (alternative version)

Catalogue Number:


Release Date:

13th November, 2020

Unique composer duo Rebekka Karijord & Jon Ekstrand create compelling, hybrid score to intimate portrait of teenage climate activist Greta Thunberg

OONA Recordings is thrilled to announce a limited edition environmentally conscious vinyl pressing of the ‘I Am Greta’ soundtrack by Rebekka Karijord and Jon Ekstrand.  Manufactured at RPM Records in Denmark, every step in the production process was carefully considered in order to achieve the most environmentally friendly product possible.  The records are made of 100% recycled PVC, and the covers printed on wood free 350 gsm 100% recycled uncoated card stock using plant based inks.   No plastic or shrink wrap will be used in the packaging or production apart from the recycled PVC in the vinyl record itself. One can read more about the process and the drive to create more sustainable productions at

The story of teenage climate activist Greta Thunberg is told through compelling, never-before-seen footage in this documentary following her rise to prominence and her global impact as she sparks school strikes and protests around the world.

To musically accompany Greta and the children of the ‘Fridays for Future’ movement on their journey, composer duo Rebekka Karijord and Jon Ekstrand spent quite a lot of time searching for right balance when it comes to how much emotional triggers the music should offer:

“With the music for ‘I Am Greta’ we aimed to find a sonic counterpoint to the friction between the shy, contemplative inner world of Greta, and the unbounded energy of the natural world and climate change movement. From the start we found it useful to separate the score into three distinct voices: Greta’s voice, the voice of natural world, and the voice of the climate chance movement.”

The synergy between the two composers with very different backgrounds as well as the blend of classical instrumentation and usage of electroacoustic elements let to a unique, compelling score.

”Rebekka and Jon’s dynamic score to ‘I Am Greta’ is huge and intimate, uplifting and melancholic, and manages to carry the emotional nuances of Greta’s story. The score forms a musical parallel to Greta’s journey and narrative voice throughout the film. It’s energy, urgency and emotional depth reminds us that the time for climate action is now.” – Nathan Grossman, director of ‘I Am Greta’

Press Contact:
White Bear PR:
Thomas Mikusz

Post Bills PR:
Valerie Dobbelaere